Log in

Member Login

CEDAW Discussion with Past BPW International President and Past NFBPWC President Liz Benham

  • 26 May 2021
  • 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • Zoom PT

Join the East Los Angeles-Montebello BPW Chapter and past BPW/International President and past NFBPWC President Liz Benham for a program about CEDAW on Wednesday, May 26, 2021 at 5:00pm PT/6:00pm MT/7:00pm CT/8:00pm ET.


CEDAW is an international treaty adopted in 1979 and ratified by 189 countries, it has been described as an international bill of rights for women. The US is one of only two countries to sign but not ratify the treaty. 

Press Release: click here

Liz Benham was instrumental in and a proponent of the founding of Cities for CEDAW, which is helping people take action in their cities to end discrimination against women. In 1998 San Francisco passed a CEDAW ordinate and a few years later Los Angeles did the same. 

Besides being a very active member of the National Federation of Business and Professional Women, Benham was a midwife and business woman, inventor, skydiver, glider pilot, world traveler and enjoyer of life.

REGISTER: For more information about this event and to obtain the Zoom link please contact Linda Wilson (lindalwilson@juno.com). The Zoom link can only be obtained by contacting Linda Wilson. 

Equal Participation of Women and Men in Power and Decision-Making Roles

Home Young BPW | Military Affiliated Women | Environment & Sustainable Development | Virtual Chapter | Contact Us 

Forms: Member Spotlight | Lifelong Leadership & Learning | L3 Evaluation    Special Events: CSW65  World Environment Day

NFBPWC is a national organization with membership across the United States acting locally, nationally and globally. NFBPWC is not affiliated with BPW/USA Foundation.

© 2021 NFBPWC. All rights reserved.


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software